Embracing Change…and why I joined a gym

I’ve heard the airplane analogy a thousand times. You know, the “put on your own oxygen mask first” idea. Basically, take care of yourself so you can better care for those around you. In theory, I agree. But it doesn’t always play out that way in real life, no matter how hard we try. There are times when we make it through the day, to make it through the night, to make it through the day. We put one foot in front of the other without a chance to think of how it happens. We just do it.

Our life has been like that for a very long time.

But things are changing. My problem is that I often react to how things have been rather than respond to how things actually are right now. So, when Alan (knowing some things I really wanted) gently suggested I join a gym, I immediately thought of 100 reasons why we would never be able to pull that off. But as only someone who has known you thousands of days can, he kept nudging at all the right times. I finally agreed to give it a go. I’m so glad I did. I think maybe I’d forgotten that just because something is hard, doesn’t mean it isn’t also good.

So, here’s to change, best friends who moonlight as husbands and my first great workout.

Leave a Reply

